

Home > Bio Events

## **BioSpectrum Awards 2012**

Thursday, November 08, 2012

## The jury members cast their vote



Seen in picture (L-R): Mr Amit Chopra, managing director and VP/GM, Thermo Fisher Scientific India; Prof. VS Chauhan, director, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), BioSpectrum Person of the Year 2011, and chairperson, 2012 BioSpectrum Awards Committee; Mr Narayanan Suresh, group editor, BioSpectrum and Technology Review India; Mr Swapan Bhattacharya, MD, TCG Lifesciences (sitting); Dr Pradip Kumar Bhatnagar, president, Daiichi Sankyo Life Science Research Centre in India (RCI); Dr Murali P Muthuswamy, president, ABLE, and managing director, Evolva Biotech; Dr Rajesh Jain, joint managing director, Panacea Biotec; Mr Utkarsh Palnitkar, executive director, Centrum Capital; Mr Supreet Deshpande, founder and director, VLife Sciences and Entrepreneur of Year, 2011; Mr Sandeep Sinha, director, Healthcare and Life Sciences Practice for South Asia and Middle East, Frost & Sullivan; Dr Chetan E Chitnis, principal investigator, Malaria Group, ICGEB and BioSpectrum Person of the Year 2011, and co-chairperson, 2012 BioSpectrum Awards Committee

A eleven member jury comprising of experts from academia, industry and finance met at the International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi on October 4, 2012 to select the achievers in bioscience area for BioSpectrum Awards 2012. The meeting was chaired by Prof. Virander S Chauhan, director, ICGEB, along with Dr Chetan Chitnis, principal investigator, Malaria Group, ICGEB. Both were felicitated with the BioSpectrum person of the year award in 2011 and hence as per the tradition, they played host for the jury meeting this year.

Mr Narayanan Suresh, group editor, BioSpectrum, kick started the interaction by giving a brief

introduction about the vision behind the BioSpectrum Award, the process and also a glimpse on previous award winners. Then the details about the nominees in each of the four categories namely, Lifetime achievement award, Person of the year award, Entrepreneur of the year award, and Product of the year award were presented to the jury one after another.

After scanning the entire list of nominees, the chairperson of the jury, Prof. Chauhan remarked, "There is no dearth of capable scientists, entrepreneurs in India, but the full potential is yet to be unleashed." Prof. Chauhan was highly excited to be a part of the jury team and actively guided the rest of the members to narrow down on the choices. Continuing with the tradition of past nine years, the jury members evaluated the performance, achievements, their impact in shaping the biotechnology industry in India, role in fostering innovation in their respective companies and the industry at large and impact of their work in the years to come.

While shortlisting the winner for Lifetime achievement award, the jury members were unanimous in choosing a person who has made tremendous contribution for bringing the academia and industry closer. For Person of the year award, jury deliberated to finalize a person who had contributed immensely in the past one year to speed up public private partnerships in the area of biotechnology. In the Product award category, it was decided to select a product having a huge outreach among the chunk of Indian population. Among the nominees in the Entrepreneur category, the jury chose to go with the person, who has a risky yet futuristic business model in an upcoming space.

While shortlisting the winner for Lifetime achievement award, the jury members were unanimous in choosing a person who has made tremendous contribution for bringing the academia and industry closer. For Person of the year award, jury deliberated to finalize a person who had contributed immensely in the past one year to speed up public private partnerships in the area of biotechnology. In the Product award category, it was decided to select a product having a huge outreach among the chunk of Indian population. Among the nominees in the Entrepreneur category, the jury chose to go with the person, who has a risky yet futuristic business model in an upcoming space.

This year's BioSpectrum awards will be held on December 17, 2012 at Bangalore. Also, marking the 10th anniversary of BioSpectrum, the occasion will definitely be special for the magazine as well as for the readers. The event will witness the presence of industry stalwarts and key stakeholders from academia and industry. To read about the achievement stories of the winners in detail, don't forget to grab the December issue.

## A LOOK INSIDE THE JURY ROOM



Mr Amit Chopra, managing director and VP/GM India, Thermo Fisher Scientific India



Dr Rajesh Jain, joint managing director, Panacea Biotec; Mr Utkarsh Palnitkar, executive director, Centrum Capital



Minutes of tough decision... **Prof. VS Chauhan**, director, ICGEB, BioSpectrum Person of the Year 2011, and chairperson, 2012 BioSpectrum Awards Committee and **Mr Narayanan Suresh**, group editor, BioSpectrum and Technology Review India



**Mr Sandeep Sinha**, director, Healthcare and Life Sciences Practice for South Asia and Middle East, Frost & Sullivan



Mr Supreet Deshpande, founder and director, VLife Sciences and Entrepreneur of Year, 2011



Meaningful glances... Mr Swapan Bhattacharya, MD, TCG Lifesciences and Dr Murali P Muthuswamy, president, ABLE, and managing director, Evolva Biotech



**Dr Chetan E Chitnis**, principal investigator, Malaria Group, ICGEB and BioSpectrum Person of the Year 2011, and co-chairman, 2012 BioSpectrum Awards Committee and Prof. **VS Chauhan** 



**Dr Pradip Kumar Bhatnagar**, president, Daiichi Sankyo Life Science Research Centre in India (RCI)

